Research

Our research has examined the acceptability and efficacy of group and individual versions of the Mothers and Babies intervention in multiple settings that serve pregnant women and new moms.

Mothers & Babies Efficacy

Three randomized controlled trials (RCTs) have provided evidence of the efficacy of the MB. These RCTs have demonstrated that the MB, when implemented in a group format and led by a trained mental health professional (e.g., clinical social workers), leads to fewer new cases of clinical depression, reductions in depressive symptoms, and improved mood management. One of these RCTs was done with low-income Latinas receiving prenatal care at a FQHC. The most recent RCT was conducted with women enrolled in home visiting programs.

More About Efficacy

Our Research Team

Mothers and Babies Researchers at Northwestern University

Darius Tandon, PhD

Associate Professor, Medical Social Sciences
Associate Director, Center for Community Health
dtandon@northwestern.edu
312-503-3398

Erin Ward, MA, MSW

Clinical Research Associate, Program Manager
erin.ward1@northwestern.edu
312-503-3389

Jaime Hamil, MPH

Research Project Coordinator
jaime.hamil@northwestern.edu
312-503-2645

Alicia Diebold, MSW

Research Project Coordinator
alicia.diebold@northwestern.edu
312-503-4817

Laura Campbell, MBA, MPH

Research Project Coordinator
laura.campbell@northwestern.edu
312-503-4201

Isabel Muñoz, MPH

Research Assistant
isabel.munoz@northwestern.edu
312-503-5050

Aria Degillio, BA

Research Assistant
aria.degillio@northwestern.edu
312-503-3379

Jessica Jensen, MPH

Research Project Manager
jessica.jensen@northwestern.edu
312-503-6808

Melissa Segovia, MS

Research Project Coordinator
melissa.segovia@northwestern.edu
312-503-6421

Molly McGown, MPH, MA

Research Project Coordinator
molly.mcgown@northwestern.edu
312-503-4282

Jesus Solano, BA

Research Assistant
jesus.solano-martinez@northwestern.edu
312-503-3318

Cindy Jimenez, BA

Research Assistant
cindy-jimenez@northwestern.edu
312-503-3347

 

Our Collaborators

Huynh-Nhu (Mimi) Le, Ph.D.
The Mothers and Babies: Mood and Health Research Program
George Washington University
hnle@gwu.edu

Deborah Perry, Ph.D.
Georgetown University
Center for Child and Human Development
dfp2@georgetown.edu
Ricardo F. Muñoz, Ph.D.
Latino Mental Health Research Program
University of California San Francisco
i4Health
Palo Alto University
rmunoz@paloaltou.edu
Alinne Barrera, Ph.D.
Palo Alto University
abarrera@paloaltou.edu

Tamar Mendelson, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University
tmendel1@jhu.edu

Acknowledgements

We would like to thank the Robert R. McCormick Foundation for their support of the Mothers and Babies Program, including the development of this website.

The ongoing support and collaboration of the State of Illinois Governor’s Office of Early Childhood Development has made our work with Illinois Home Visiting Programs possible, in cooperation with the Illinois Children’s Mental Health Partnership.

We are committed to improving the lives of women, children and families through rigorous research addressing perinatal mental health, made possible by our generous sponsors: ASCEND, The Aspen Institute; Florida Association of Healthy Start Coalitions, Friends of Prentice; Illinois Children’s Healthcare Foundation; the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute; and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

The Mothers and Babies Program Team is part of The Center for Community Health at Northwestern University‘s Institute for Public Health and Medicine.


Mothers & Babies Modules

Module

© 2017 Northwestern Mothers & Babies. All Rights Reserved. Contact Mothers & Babies
Non Profit Web Design by Idea Marketing Group